Dinner Disasters

8 May

We’ve all experienced an embarrassing moment at some point in our lives. Here we look at some of the dinner disasters our readers have had at their dinner parties…

My boyfriend invited me to his family home for the Easter holidays, a huge step, as I hadn’t met anybody from his family. I was also excited – being an international student, home cooked food is a dreamy treat. We arrived and were greeted by his lovely family, who made me feel very welcome. They told me that they would be hosting a dinner party for their extended family in the evening and it would be a great chance for everybody to meet me. No pressure. I made sure I looked my best and threw myself in. To my surprise, I was getting along great with everybody – chatting, laughing, it couldn’t have been more perfect. By the time we sat down to eat, I had consumed a fair amount of fizzy drink. As my boyfriend’s mum was serving the food, she leant over my shoulder to ask what I would like. I opened my mouth to reply, and instead of words, a big loud burp erupted in her face. The entire table burst into fits of laughter, luckily his mum included, but I just wanted to die!

– Jackie, 21, Southampton

Have a dinner disaster you’d like to share? E-mail them to us at ahappyhostessblog@gmail.com and your story could be featured in next weeks post!

Leave a Reply

